2nd Global Internet and Jurisdiction Conference Holds in Ottawa

Bertrand De La Chapelle, Executive Director, Internet and Jurisdiction Policy Network
Bertrand De La Chapelle, Executive Director, Internet and Jurisdiction Policy Network

The Second Global Internet and Jurisdiction Conference of the Internet and Jurisdiction Policy Network will take place in Ottawa, Canada, from February 26 to 28, 2018.

The conference is expected to be an important milestone in addressing one of the greatest challenges confronting global governance in the 21st century, which is: how to manage the co-existence of national laws on the internet.

 During the conference, key senior-level representatives from a wide range of stakeholder groups and countries will work toward the development of policy standards and operational solutions, which are expected to fight abuses, protect human rights, and enable the global digital economy.

 The Conference is organized by the Internet and Jurisdiction Policy Network in partnership with the Government of Canada and is institutionally supported by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), the Council of Europe, the European Commission, and the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN).

According to the organizers, this second Conference will be an important opportunity to take stock of the outcomes of the first Global Conference held in Paris, France, in 2016, the intersessional work in the Policy Network’s three Programs:  Data and Jurisdiction, Content and Jurisdiction, and Domains and Jurisdiction.

Stakeholders will decide on concrete focus and priorities, as well as a clear methodology and roadmap for the Policy Network to advance the development of policy standards and operational solutions for submission at the its third Global Conference, which will take place in Berlin, Germany, in June 2019, and will be organized in partnership with the government of Germany.

 The participants will include Mr. David McGovern, Associate Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development of Canada; Mr. Vint Cerf, co-founder of the Internet and Vice President of Google; Ms Kathryn Brown, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Internet Society; Ms Jane Horvath, Senior Director of Global Privacy at Apple; Mr. Uri Rosenthal, former Minister of Foreign Affairs of The Netherlands; Ms Rebecca Mackinnon, Director of Ranking Digital Rights at the New American Foundation;  Mr. Nii Quaynor, Father of the Internet in Africa and Chairman, Ghana Dot Com; and Ms Anriette Esterhuysen, Director of Policy and Strategy, Association for Progressive Communications.

 Other participants include Mr. David Kaye, the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Promotion and Protection of the Right to Freedom of Opinion and Expression; Mr. Joseph Cannatati, the UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Privacy; Mr. Colin Crowell, Vice President, Global Public Policy and Philanthropy for Twitter; Ms Gail Kent, Global Public Policy Manager for Facebook; Mr. Paul Mitchell, Senior Director for Tech Policy at Microsoft; Mr. Byron Holland, President and Chief Executive Officer at the Canadian Internet Registry Association; Ms Corynne Mcsherry, Legal Director at the Electronic Frontier Foundation; and Ms Ellen Blackler, Vice President for Global Public Policy at The Walt Disney Company.