American Geophysical Union Accepting Nominations for 2022 Journalism Awards

Randy Fiser
AGU Executive Director

The American Geophysical Union (AGU) is calling for nominations for its 2022 journalism awards to recognise excellence in science journalism for news, features, and sustained achievement.

The Union offers three science journalism awards as follows: the David Perlman Award for Excellence in Science Journalism – News, which seeks Earth and space science news reporting generally produced under deadline pressure of one week or less; the Walter Sullivan Award for Excellence in Science Journalism – Features which accepts features on Earth and space science generally produced with deadlines of longer than one week; and the Robert C. Cowen Award for Sustained Achievement in Science Journalism which is given to journalists who have made significant, lasting, outstanding and consistent contributions to Earth and space science journalism.

Entries must be in English or include an English translation and those for the news and features awards must have been published or broadcast in 2021. 

All winners will receive a trip to attend the AGU Fall Meeting and more. The winners of the news and features awards will also receive US$5,000.

Self-nominations are accepted and nominations close on April 1, 2022.

For more information, and to nominate, please go to:

To nominate. Please create an account here.