Call Opens for Entries for Africa Science Journalism Awards

Tom Kariuki
Chief Executive Officer of SFA Foundation

The Science for Africa Foundation (SFA Foundation), with support from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, is now accepting entries from journalists for the Africa Science Journalism Awards, which seeks to uplift credible health, science and development reporting.

The awards will recognize and honour excellent reporting on science and innovation in Africa and also aim to improve and increase coverage of science on the continent.

The award will be given to African journalists whose stories cover the SFA Foundation’s thematic focus areas of health, climate change and environment, and agriculture. The awards include a category for scientists to uplift credible science voices to eliminate misinformation and disinformation that sometimes characterises conversations on science particularly on social media.

The award will accept stories published between January 1, 2022 to August 30, 2023 and can be submitted in the following categories: innovative science journalist; science journalism media organization of the year; best news story or feature; innovator editors/editors award; and science champion.

Award prizes range from US$1,500 to US$5,000. In addition to the monetary prizes, winners will be given plaques at a key pan-African science conference. There is an opportunity for one or two of the winners to spend 3 days to a week at a partner academic or research institution within their country or region, meeting scientists to gain in-depth knowledge about a specific science subject. A pitch fee will be paid for a story that is published after spending time at the partner institution.

Applications can be submitted as follows: 1 for innovative science journalist, 2 stories for the best news story, 1 story for best feature stories and 3 stories for editor’s award. Applicants are allowed to submit one entry per category via the Agaseke Grants Management System (Agaseke GMS).

Submission of applications closes on August 31, 2023.

For more information and to apply, please visit