A.G’s Report Indicates MDAs are Failing to Comply With the FOI Act 2011


Majority of Nigerian Government Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) are breaching thier obligation to comply with Section 29 of the Freedom of Information (FOI) Act, which enjoins them to submit annual reports of their implementation of the Act.

Mr. Mohammed Adoke, Attorney General of the Federation

According to a report sent to Media Rights Agenda (MRA) by the Office of the Attorney General of the Federation (AGF) following a Freedom of Information Request, only 28 out of the over 800 MDAs submitted their FOI Annual Reports.

Section 29 of the FOI Act makes it an obligation for all Public Institutions to submit to the AGF a report containing details of requests received and matters arising therefrom on or before February 1 each year. The same Section also requires the AGF to publish the report electronically and in print and submit copies to the relevant Committees of the National Assembly on or before April, 1 of each year.

MDAs failed to file their reports in spite of call letters to Public Institutions on the need to ensure strict compliance with the FOI Act 2011 especially with respect to proactive disclosure obligations under section 2 and the AGF’s obligations under section 29 which the report says the Freedom of Information (FOI) Unit of Federal Ministry of Justice issued.

The report added that in order to ensure compliance with the provisions of the FOIA 2011, and uniformity in the form and style of reporting, the AGF prepared guidelines which is currently being revised and formatted for the public institutions for the purpose of submission of reports.

Below is a list of institutions that have submitted reports as well as a breakdown of the reports:

Public Institutions Which Have submitted Reports.

1. Federal Ministry of Justice.

2. National Youth Service Corps.

3. National Centre of Women Development

4. National Orientation Agency (NOA).

5. Federal Capital Territory Administration.

6. National Sports Commission.

7. National Pension Commission.

8. Federal Road Safety Corps.

9. Office of the Accountant-General of the Federation.

10.National Planning Commission.

11.Nigerian Institute of Social and Economic Research.

12.Police Service Commission.

13.Nigerian Press Commission.

14.National Agency for the Prohibition of Traffic in Persons.

15.Federal Ministry of Land, Housing and Urban Development.

16.Federal Ministry of Tourism.

17.Manpower Development Office (OHSF).

18.National Drug Law Enforcement Agency.

19.Federal Ministry of Health.

20.Nigeria Football Federation.

21.Lagos University Teaching Hospital.

22.Nigeria Electricity Regulatory Commission.

23.News Agency of Nigeria.

24.Federal Ministry of Youth Development.

25.Federal Medical Centre, Gusau.

26.Independent National Electoral Commission.

27.National Judicial Institute.

28.Head of Civil Service of the Federation.

Public Institutions That Submitted Nil Reports

1. National Youth Services Corps;

2. National Centre for Women Development;

3. National Orientation Agency;

4. Office of the Accountant General of the Federation;

5. Police Service Commission;

6. National automotive Council;

7. Nigeria Football Federation;

8. Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission;

9. Federal Ministry of Youth Development;

10.Federal Medical Centre, Gusau;

11.National Judicial Institute; and

12.Head of Civil Service of the Federation.

Public Institutions With Processed Request/Application For Information

1. Federal Ministry of Justice;

2. Federal Capital Territory Administration;

3. National Sports Commission;

4. National Pension Commission;

5. Federal Road Safety Corps;

6. National Planning Commission;

7. Nigerian Press Council;

8. National Agency for the Prohibition of Traffic in Persons;

9. Federal Ministry of Tourism;

10.Manpower Development Office (OHSF);

11.National Drug Law Enforcement Agency;

12.Federal Ministry of Health;

13.News Agency of Nigeria;

14.Independent National Electoral Commission;

15.Nigeria Institute of Social and Economic Research (NISER);

16.Ministry of Lands, Housing and Urban Development; and

17.Lagos University Teaching Hospital.