Online News Association Accepting Entries for Online Journalism Awards


Online News Association (ONA) is accepting entries for the 2017 edition of its Online Journalism Awards (OJAs) which recognises excellence in digital reporting. It is open to online journalists, digital news organizations and students.

Award are available in several categories including: breaking news; excellence and innovation in visual digital storytelling; explanatory reporting; feature; the Gannett Foundation Award for Technical Innovation in the Service of Digital Journalism; general excellence in online journalism; the Knight Award for Public Service; online commentary; and planned news/events.

Other award categories are the Pro-Am Student Award; sports; the Al Neuharth Innovation in Investigative Journalism Award; the David Teeuwen Student Journalism Award; the University of Florida Award for Investigative Data Journalism; and topical reporting.

Two new categories: excellence in audio digital storytelling and excellence in immersive storytelling, will be added this year.

Thirteen awards will offer a total of US$58,500 in prize money, including US$15,000 for two awards for investigative data journalism.

The awards will be presented at the Online News Association Conference & Awards Banquet in October 2017 in Washington.

To qualify, entries must have been published between June 3, 2016 and June 1, 2017. Works may be submitted in any language, however English translations are strongly recommended.

The deadline for submission of entries is June 8, 2017. The entry fee is US$100 for ONA members, US$175 for non-members, US$15 for student members and US$50 for student non-members.

The OJAs, launched in 2000, are the only comprehensive set of journalism prizes honoring excellence in digital journalism. You can view a list of the 2016 winners here.

For more information, please log on to