UNESCO Calls for Nominations for UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2019

Audrey Azoulay, Director-General, UNESCO
Audrey Azoulay, Director-General, UNESCO

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) is inviting nominations for the 2019 UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize.

The call for nomination is open to governments of UNESCO Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, as well as international and regional professional non-governmental organizations, active in the field of press freedom.
Awarded annually, on May 3 during the commemoration of the World Press Freedom Day, the Prize is marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000. It is funded by the Cano Foundation (Colombia), the Helsingin Sanomat Foundation (Finland) and the Namibia Media Trust (Namibia).
The World Press Freedom Day 2019 will take place on May 3, 2019 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
Established by UNESCO’s Executive Board in 1997, the Prize is used to honour Guillermo Cano, a Colombian journalist who died in the exercise of his profession. It is given annually to a person, organization or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially if risks have been involved.

Nominations for the Prize are to be made online by filling out the form in English or French. It must be sent before 15 February 2019 by post or by email to:
Communication and Information Sector
Division of Freedom of Expression and Media Development
Section for Freedom of Expression
7 Place de Fontenoy
75007 Paris

E-mail: s.coudray@unesco.org(link sends e-mail)


The rules of the Prize are available here.