UNESCO Invites Nominations for the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2022

Guillermo Cano

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation UNESCO is inviting the governments of Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, as well as international and regional professional non-governmental organizations, active in the field of journalism and press freedom, to nominate candidates for the 2022 UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize.

Established by UNESCO’s Executive Board, in 1997, in honour of Guillermo Cano, a Colombian journalist who died in the exercise of his profession, the yearly prize is meant to reward a person, organization or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially if risks have been involved.

Awarded annually, on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day (May 3), the Prize is marked by a global ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000.

This year, the World Press Freedom Day will take place in Punta del Este, Uruguay, on May 3 2022.

The Prize is funded by the Guillermo Cano Isaza Foundation (Colombia), the Helsingin Sanomat Foundation (Finland), the Namibia Media Trust (Namibia) and Democracy & Media Foundation Stichting Democratie & Media (The Netherlands).

Nominations for the Prize should be submitted by filling out the online form, in English or in French, and submitting it before February 15, 2022 by post or by e-mail to:


Communication and Information Sector

Freedom of Expression and Safety of Journalists Section

7 Place de Fontenoy

75007 Paris



E-mail: g.godoi@unesco.org(link sends e-mail); f.romer@unesco.org

For further information and to nominate, please go to https://en.unesco.org/news/unesco-seeking-nominations-unescoguillermo-cano-world-press-freedom-prize-2022.