West Africa Media Excellence Awards Accepting Entries

Sulemana Braimah, ED, MFWA

The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) is now accepting entries from media professionals across the region for the fifth edition of the annual West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA).

The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) is now accepting entries for the 5th edition of the West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA).

The Awards are opened to journalists from print, electronic and online media in Anglophone, Francophone, and Lusophone countries in West Africa. An Applicant must be West African, working with and for a media organisation. An Entry for the Awards must have been published or broadcast between January 1 and December 31, 2020.

This year’s edition will be held on October 22 and 23 in Accra, Ghana, and will focus on the theme: Misinformation, Digital Media Regulation and Journalism in Africa.

Interested applicants should upload published works via the entry form on the website: http://www.mfwa.org/wameca. The entry should be an original work published through a media outlet in West Africa and must show the date of publication/broadcast and the medium in which the work was published. Applicants may submit entries to a maximum of two categories and for each category, a maximum of two entries are permitted.

Winners of the various categories will be announced at the West Africa Media Excellence Awards on October 23, at Swiss Spirit Alisa Hotel, Accra where the awards ceremony will be held. The Conference will feature sessions on topical journalism issues and also provide opportunities for networking among journalists, editors, and experts from West Africa.

WAMECA 2021 will honour outstanding works of journalism in West Africa in the following categories:

  • Health Reporting
  • Environmental Reporting
  • Anti-Corruption Reporting
  • Investigative Reporting
  • Human rights Reporting
  • Business and SMEs Reporting
  • Telecoms and ICTs Reporting
  • Special Covid-19 Reporting

The deadline for the submission of entries is on June 30, 2021.

For more information and to apply, visit: https://www.mfwa.org/wameca/.