BON Honours Industry Icons in Maiden ‘Nigeria Broadcasting Awards’

Mr. John Ugbe
Chairman and Chief Executive of BON

The Broadcasting Organisations of Nigeria (BON) on May 17, 2023, honoured some broadcast industry icons during its maiden edition of ”The Nigeria Broadcasting Awards” aimed at recognising and celebrating excellence in the broadcast media industry

Mr. John Ugbe, BON Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of MultiChoice Nigeria, said in his opening address at the ceremony that the awards attest to BON’s commitment to continuous improvement of standards in the broadcast profession.

Mr. Ugbe said: “As an organisation, BON’s vision is to foster a future-proof environment for radio, TV and new media broadcasters to serve their audiences and contribute to the development of our society. We consider it equally important to reward excellence and project the Nigerian broadcasting industry as one committed to the continual improvement of standards. Through these awards, we commit to shining the spotlight on exceptional talent, and seeing to it that those deserving are duly recognised and celebrated.

“I must say that the pool from which tonight’s winners will emerge is impressive. This is an attestation to the fine crop of professionals we have in the industry. I would like to extend hearty congratulations to all the nominees tonight. Being nominated is a testament to your professionalism and contributions to the broadcasting profession in Nigeria and, in my book, you are all winners.”

The event, hosted by popular broadcaster, Frank Edoho, was used to celebrate outstanding personalities and institutions in the broadcast industry.

Arise TV came tops carting three awards home namely: Television Station of the Year award and Best Television Station – News in English Language award. The station’s reporter, Ovieteme George also emerged as Reporter of the Year in the Television category.

The founder of DAAR Communications, Raymond Dokpesi; founder of Minaj Broadcasting, Michael Ajegbo; the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN), and the Nigerian Television Authority (NTA) were honoured for their contributions to the growth of broadcasting in Nigeria.

Christopher Kolade, Vincent Maduka, and Mohammed Ibrahim received the Lifetime Achievement Awards while Kunle Olasope, Michael Enahoro, and Dahiru Modibbo were awarded Posthumous Awardees for Contribution to Broadcasting.

Individual recipients of the TNBA awards include Adeniyi Bakare (FRCN) who received the Reporter of the Year (Radio) award; George Iniabasi (Comfort FM) who got the Presenter of the Year (Radio) award; Victory Wilson (Silverbird TV) honoured with the Presenter of the Year (Television) award; Ahmad Kabo Idris (Freedom Radio 99.5FM Kano), given the Newscaster of the Year (Radio) award; and Ruth Aguele (NTA), who received the Newscaster of the Year (Television) award.

‘Tell Your Story with Quinesta’ (Hit 95.9 FM Calabar) received the Best Radio Show (English) award; ‘Law and Order’ (Trust Television) received the Best Television Show (English) award; ‘Jankara Market’ (Silverbird TV) was given the Best Television Show (Indigenous Language); ‘Boat Mishap Report’ (Nigeria Info FM Lagos) got the Best Radio Production in Documentary/Feature (English Language) award; while ‘Ogiame Atuwatse III – The Making of a King’ (NDNTV) was honoured with Best Television Production in Documentary/Feature (English Language) award.

The rest awards went to ‘Pataki Kaadi Idibo’ (Lagos Television) as Best Television Production in Documentary/Feature (Indigenous Language); Channels TV (Diaspora Network) for Best Television Station – Original Production in Business/Drama/Sports (English Language) award; and Nigeria Info FM Lagos which got the Radio Station of the Year award’.