Entries Invited for African Fact-Checking Awards

Noko Makgato
Executive director of Africa Check

Journalists, journalism students, and fact-checkers from across the African continent are invited to submit entries for the 2022 African Fact-Checking Awards.

The Awards, the longest-running awards programme honouring fact-checking journalism by the media in Africa, are in their ninth year. This year, the Awards are open to a newly added category of professional fact-checkers.

Eligible entries must have been first published or broadcast between August 1, 2021 and July 15, 2022. The fact-check should conclude that a claim about an important topic, originating in or relevant to Africa, which is either misleading or wrong.

Awards will be given in three categories, with honours going to a winner and a runner-up in each category. The categories are:

  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Working Journalist
  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Professional Fact-Checker
  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Student Journalist

Winners of the working journalist and professional fact-checker categories will each get a cash prize of US$3,000 while runners-up will receive $1,500. The winner of the student journalist category will be awarded $2,000, and the runner-up $1,000.

Submission of entries closes at midnight GMT on 15 July 2022.

To be eligible for the awards, entries for this competition must:

  • Be the original work of the individual or team identified in the entry form as the author.
  • Expose a claim on an important topic that originated in or is relevant to Africa as misleading or wrong.
  • Be an original piece of fact-checking journalism first published or broadcast on any date from August 1, 2021 to July 15, 2022.
  • Be received by the organisers before midnight GMT on 15 July 2022. Late entries will not be accepted.
  • Be received by the organisers via the official entry form. No other means of sending in entries is allowed.

Fact-checks can be published/broadcast in any language, but entry forms must be completed in either English or French. However, should the fact-checking report not be in English or French, a written translation must be submitted with the entry.

Candidates can only enter for the awards in one category per year, but can submit more than one report if they choose. Only journalists who do not work for fact-checking organisations are eligible to enter in this category.

For full information about the awards, please visit https://africacheck.org/what-we-do/african-fact-checking-awards.