Eze Anaba Elected President of Nigerian Guild of Editors

Eze Anaba
President of the Nigerian Guild of Editors (NGE)

 Mr. Eze Anaba, Editor of Vanguard newspaper, was elected  President of the Nigerian Guild of Editors (NGE) on June 15, 2023  at the  Biennial Convention of the professional body for editors in Nigeria, held in Owerri, the Imo State capital.

A number of the contestants in the election were returned unopposed and they include Husseina Bangshika as Deputy President, Steve Nwosu as Treasurer, Kabir Alabi Garba (Vice President West), Gabriel Akinadewo Folajimi (Assistant Secretary), Umoru Ibrahim (Vice President North), Muhammad Sanusi and Paulyn Owhievbie Ugbodaga (both Standing Committee North). Messrs Akinreti Qasim (General Secretary position) and Ademola Adegbamigbe (Standing Committee) were disqualified for improper documentation.

Other Editors elected are Charles Kalu (Social/Publicity Secretary), Sheddy Ozoene (Vice President East), Chinedu Egere and Dom Isute (Standing Committee East), Onuoha Ukeh, Rose Moses and Oluwole Sogunle (Standing Committee West).

Speaking after his election, Eze thanked members of the Guild for the confidence they reposed in him and promised not to let the Guild down.

He also thanked the NGE ex-president, Mustapha Isah, for his leadership attributes and for organizing a successful election. He pledged to uphold the Constitution of the NGE, promote the ethics of the journalism profession and lead the campaign against policies that undermine media freedom.

Eze promised: “I will do everything to achieve our guild’s vision and mission for the socioeconomic and political development of our Guild and country, Nigeria.”

Eze’s election elicited well wishes from all the corners of the nations as people from all over Nigeria congratulated him on his emergence as the Guild president. Among those who congratulated him on his election were Mr. Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Nigeria’s president; Alh. Atiku Abubakar, Nigeria’s former Vice President; Mr. Babajide Sanwoolu, the Lagos State governor; Mr. Peter Obi, Presidential candidate of the Labour Party in the 2023 election; Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori, Delta State Governor; Godswill Akpabio, President of the Senate; and the Newspapers Proprietors’s Association of Nigeria (NPAN), among others. They expressed confidence in him and urged him to work to uphold the ethics of journalism.