MFWA Calls for Entries for West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards 2023

Sulemana Braimah
Executive Director of Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA).

The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) in Accra. Ghana, is calling for entries for the 2023 edition of the West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA). The event will take place from October 19 to 21, 2023, in Accra, under the theme:  “Media and Democracy in Africa”.

The Awards, in their 7th edition, are opened to journalists from print, electronic, and online media in Anglophone, Francophone, and Lusophone countries in West Africa. An applicant must be West African, working with and for a media organization (s) based in the sub-region.

WAMECA 2023 will honour outstanding works of journalism in West Africa in the following categories:

  • Human Rights Reporting
  • Investigative Reporting
  • Anti-Corruption Reporting
  • Environmental Reporting
  • Health Reporting
  • Telecoms and ICTs Reporting
  • Business and SMEs Reporting
  • Migration Reporting
  • Women Empowerment Reporting
  • Oil and Gas Reporting

In the first two days of the event, various topics will be discussed around the theme whilst the last day will be dedicated to the presentation of awards, based on excellence and impactful works of journalism in West Africa.

In this year’s event, participants will deliberate on the current democratic recession in Africa and come out with actionable recommendations to mobilize a continent-wide response to the rollback.

To be eligible, an entry for the Awards must have been published or broadcast between the period of January to December 2022.

Interested applicants are required to upload their published works using the WAMECA 2023 Entry Form. Entries should be the applicant’s work published through a media outlet in West Africa showing the date of publication/broadcast and the medium in which the work was published. Applicants are allowed to submit entries to a maximum of two categories. For each category, a maximum of two entries are allowed.

The deadline for the submission of the entries is June 30, 2023, at 17.00 GMT with finalists of the WAMECA 2023 Awards, announced on October 3, 2023.

For further details, please visit