MRA Executive Director Receives ‘OGP Reform Champion Award’

Some members of the second National Steering Committee of OGP Nigeria at the Valedictory Session

The Executive Director of Media Rights Agenda (MRA), Mr. Edetaen Ojo, was on May 25, 2023 conferred with the “OGP Reform Champion Award” by the Open Government Partnership in Nigeria for his “inspiring leadership, steadfast commitment, and outstanding contributions to improving the state of Open Government in Nigeria”.

Mr. Ojo, who served two terms on the National Steering Committee (NSC) of OGP Nigeria, was honoured at a combined valedictory session for members of the second NSC, whose tenures formally came to an end, and inaugural session for members of the third NSC who began their tenures.

He began his term on the inaugural NSC of OGP Nigeria in 2016, when he served as Co-Chair, along with the Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Mr. Abubakar Malami (SAN) until 2019, and subsequently as a member of the second NSC 2020 until the end of his tenure on May 25, 2023,

The Award was presented to Mr. Ojo, on behalf of OGP Nigeria, by the Registrar-General and Chief Executive Officer of the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC), Alhaji Garba Abubakar, who now leads the OGP in Nigeria as Acting Government Co-Chair.

Mr. Ojo also presented, on behalf of OGP Nigeria, similar awards to the outgoing Government Co-Chair of OGP Nigeria, Prince Clem Agba, who until May 29, 2023, was the Minister of State for Budget and National Planning; and the outgoing Non-State Actors Co-Chair, Dr. Tayo Aduloju, who is the Chief Operating Officer and Senior Fellow for Public Policy at the Nigerian Economic Summit Group (NESG).  Dr Aduloju’s award was received on his behalf by Mrs. Obialunanma Nnaobi-Ayodele, the Executive Director of the The Meluibe Empowerment Foundation and the new Non-State Actors Co-Chair of OGP Nigeria.