NBC Announces Issuance of 65 New Broadcast Licences 

Dr. Armstrong Idachaba, Ag. DG, NBC
Dr. Armstrong Idachaba, Acting DG, NBC

The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has announced approval by  President Muhammad Buhari for the issuance of 65 new broadcast licences to different beneficiaries for the establishment of various types of radio and television stations spread across the country

A statement issued by the Deputy Director, Public Affairs Unit of the Commission, AntiaEkanem, on March 8, 2020, discloses that the NBC granted 43 organisations with FM radio broadcasting licences; eight tertiary institutions with campus FM radio broadcasting licences; one firm with community FM radio broadcasting licence while 13 companies were granted free-view digital terrestrial television licences.

Among the beneficiaries of the new licences are the Nigeria Police Force (NPF), Nigeria Customs Service (NCS) and the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC).

Aside from the NPF, NCS, NSCDC, three newspaper companies: Blueprint Newspapers Limited, Media Trust Limited and the Leadership Group (Leadership Radio Network) also got radio licences. In addition, Blueprint Newspapers Limited was also granted a licence for free-view digital terrestrial television with national coverage.

The only community radio licence issued went to AMAC Community Radio Initiative and will be located in Karshi, Abuja.

The institutions that got campus radio licences are AbubakarTatari Ali Polytechnic, Bauchi; Federal Polytechnic, Nasarawa; Akwa Ibom State University, Akwa Ibom; Ambrose Ali University, Ekpoma, Edo State; Temple Gate Polytechnic, Aba, Abia State; AuduGusauPolytechnic, TalataMafara, Zamfara State; NuhuBamalli Polytechnic, Zaria, Kaduna State and Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro, Ogun State.

The NBC statement advised successful companies, institutional and communities listed to collect their letters of a grant of provisional operating license(s) from the office of the Secretary to the commission.