Entries Open for African Fact-Checking Awards

Noko Makgato
Executive director
African Check

A call for entries has gone out for the African Fact-Checking Awards as it invites entries for the 2023 African Fact-Checking Awards from journalists, journalism students, and professional fact-checkers across the continent.

To be eligible for this competition, entries must meet the following criteria: the entry must be the original work of the individual or team identified in the entry form as the author; the fact-check must expose a claim about an important topic that originated in or is relevant to Africa as misleading or wrong; and the fact-check must be an original piece of journalism that was first published or broadcast on any date from July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023.

The awards have three categories, with honours going to a winner and a runner-up in each category. The categories are:

  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Working Journalist
  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Professional Fact-Checker
  • Fact-Check of the Year by a Student Journalist

The winners of the working journalist and professional fact-checker categories will each get a prize of US$3,000 while the runners-up will receive $1,500 each. The winner of the student journalist category will be awarded $2,000, and the runner-up $1,000.

The award, in 2022, received a total of 190 entries from 24 African countries, and this year, the organizers expect an even higher number of submissions.

Entries must be received by the organisers before midnight GMT on June 30, 2023.

Late entries will not be accepted; entries must be received by the organisers via the official entry form. No other means of sending in entries is allowed and fact-checks can be published or broadcast in any language, but entry forms must be completed in either English or French. However, if the fact-check report is not in English or French, a written translation must be submitted with the entry.

Other criteria are that entrant confirms that they are the authors of the work, and that in the case of any dispute about this, this is entirely the entrant’s responsibility; reports published by Africa Check are not eligible for the competition; the judges reserve the right to move an entry from one category to another; candidates can only enter for the awards in one category per year, but can submit more than one report if they choose; should the entrant win a prize in the awards, the organisers will send the prize money to a bank account to be nominated by him/her.

For more detailed information about the awards, please visit https://africacheck.org/what-we-do/african-fact-checking-awards.